Your data

Do Not Sell My Personal Information.

Time to read: 6 minutes

At a glance

It’s a good idea to understand a key online privacy option: “Do Not Sell My Personal Information.”

If you tell us to not sell your personal information, we won’t.

We’ll still need to share some personal information with our service providers so you can receive products, services, and more.

"Do Not Sell My Personal Information” explained

California has a data protection law called the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA). It gives California consumers the right to tell companies to not sell their personal information. We use this legislation as the benchmark for the privacy choices we extend to all our customers.

That’s why we include a “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” link at the bottom of most of our website pages, and in some of our apps. When you click it, you get to make a choice about your online privacy with us. In this article, we’ll break down what it means and how you can change this privacy setting.

Defining “personal information”

Personal information is any piece of data that can or does identify you. 

The CCPA expands that definition to include information that’s not necessarily directly tied to an individual’s identity but may be associated with a device. 

Defining a “sale”

The CCPA defines “sell” or “sale” broadly to include the sharing of personal information (including information that does not directly identify an individual) in exchange for anything of value, which is not limited to the exchange of money.

According to the CCPA, certain exchanges of personal information are not considered a “sale.” For example, we can share your personal information with a service provider that’s contractually prohibited from using your personal information for any purposes beyond the service we specifically requested. Also, if you specifically direct us to share your personal information, then we’ll do so.

Bottom line: If you tell us to not sell your personal information, we won’t. Simple as that. However, we’ll still need to share some personal information with our service providers so you can, for example, receive products and services from us.

Two ways to set your “Do Not Sell” preference

Set it once and forget it

If you log in and set your “Do Not Sell” preference ON or OFF, we’ll keep track of your choice with a cookie and honor it every single time you log in with that brand.

If you have separate accounts with us under more than one brand, you’ll need to log into each one to set your “Do Not Sell” preferences, including T-Mobile, Metro, Assurance Wireless, and Sprint.

IMPORTANT: If you’re a customer, logging in is the very best way to ensure your “Do Not Sell” preference stays the way you want it.

Set it when you visit our sites

If you’re not logged into your account or don’t have an account with us, you’ll need to set a “Do Not Sell” preference by clicking the “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” link at the bottom of most of our web pages.

Note that this only works if your browser is set to accept cookies. Also if you clear cookies from the cache in your browser, your “Do Not Sell” preference will be erased, and you will need to reset it.

Where to find the “Do Not Sell” setting

Privacy Dashboard

You can set your “Do Not Sell” preference and the rest of your privacy options right here in our Privacy Center. Here’s how:

  • Click on Privacy Dashboard here or in the menu above.

  • Find your brand.

  • Under “Do Not Sell My Personal Information,” click the “Manage personal information” button.

  • If you want us to limit the data we share about you with other companies, turn ON the “Do Not Sell” preference(s). The toggle(s) will switch from OFF to ON and from gray to magenta.

  • Click “Done” to save your preference.

“Do Not Sell” link 

  • Click the “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” link at the bottom of most of our web pages or in our apps. 

  • A pop-up window will appear where you can turn your “Do Not Sell” setting ON or OFF. If the pop-up window doesn’t appear, check your browser's pop-up settings. 

  • If you’re not logged in and you want us to limit the data we share about you with other companies, turn ON the “Do Not Sell” preference. The toggle will switch from OFF to ON and from gray to magenta. 

  • For the best experience, click the “log in” link and log in to your account. You’ll see two options under “Do Not Sell My Personal Information.” If you want us to limit the data we share about you with other companies, turn ON the “Do Not Sell” preferences. The toggles will switch from OFF to ON and from gray to magenta.

Check your “Do Not Sell” choice

Log into our Privacy Dashboard

You can check, set, or change your “Do Not Sell” preference and other privacy choices using our Privacy Dashboard. If you want us to limit the data we share about you with other companies, the “Do Not Sell” toggle(s) should be set to ON or magenta. 

Use our link 

Click the “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” link at the bottom of the webpage you’re browsing or in the menu of the  app you’re using. If you want us to limit the data we share about you with other companies, the “Do Not Sell” toggle(s) should be set to ON or magenta. 

Troubleshooting

Your “Do Not Sell” preference may switch from ON to OFF on our website or in our apps on your device if:  

  • Your browser doesn’t accept cookies

  • You delete or clear your browser cookies 

  • You delete data on your app

  • You clear your local storage on your phone

Global Privacy Control

T-Mobile participates in a service called Global Privacy Control (GPC) that lets you set a “Do Not Sell” preference at the browser level. 
 
First, you’ll need a GPC-enabled browser or browser extension. Next, you’ll activate or turn on the GPC setting in the browser. When you visit a website, your browser will automatically send the site a “Do Not Sell” signal and participating websites, like ours, will honor your preference.

Note: Not all browsers and extensions offer a GPC setting. To download a GPC-enabled browser, go to the Global Privacy Control website.  

To check if our website received your GPC signal, click on the “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” link in our footer. If we’re receiving your GPC signal, we’ll automatically opt you out of the sale of your personal information and tell you that a GPC signal was used.

When we’re detecting your active GPC signal, we won’t allow you to opt back into the sale of your personal information.

Related links

  • Customer using the Privacy Dashboard on a tablet.

    Privacy Dashboard Controls


    Control your “Do Not Sell My Personal Information” choice and other privacy options.

  • Young person scrolls through content on phone while riding in back seat of car.

    Cookies and tracking Your data


    Learn more about cookies, other online tools, and tracking technologies and how these work.

  • A phone showing a personalized ad from T-Mobile.

    Personalized ads and offers Your ads


    Learn more about how T-Mobile uses your data to make ads more relevant to you.