Support
SUPPORT New to T-Mobile? Switching is easy Set up your device Using the app Sprint Migration Center All get started topics Ways to pay your bill All about your bill Line permissions Your T-Mobile ID Your PIN/Passcode All account resources topics T-Mobile Network In-flight texting and Wi-Fi Wi-Fi Calling International roaming Mobile Without Borders All network & roaming topics Find the right plan Neftlix on Us HotSpot plans Voicemail Use Mobile HotSpot All plans support topics Tutorials Troubleshooting Unlock your device Change your SIM T-Mobile eSIM All device assistance topics Account Hub I-Billing Home Office Internet Collaborate Line permissions All business support topics

Learn how to master reset an iPhone running Apple iOS 15 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card.

  1. Back up all data.
  2. If Apple FMiP Activation Lock is enabled, you will need access to the internet to complete these steps.
  3. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone.
  4. Tap desired option:
    • Reset
      • Reset All Settings All settings are removed or reset to default. No data or media is deleted.
      • Reset Network Settings All network settings are removed.
      • Reset Keyboard Dictionary Resetting the keyboard dictionary erases only the words you have added.
      •  Reset Home Screen Layout Returns the built-in apps to their original layout on the Home Screen.
      •  Reset Location & Privacy Resets the location services and privacy settings to default.
    • Erase All Content and Settings All of your content is removed.
      •  eSIM users keep eSIM & T-Mobile Plan (This option will reset all content and settings but keep the eSIM and T-Mobile plan active on your device).
        1. Tap Erase This iPhone.
        2. Tap Erase All & Keep Data Plans.
      • eSIM users delete eSIM (This option will reset all content, settings, and delete your eSIM. You will need to contact Customer Care or visit a Retail store to assign a new eSIM and re-activate your device).
        1. Tap Erase This iPhone.
        2. Tap Erase All > Remove Cellular Plan.
  5. Type in the device password if prompted.
  6. Confirm selection.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card.

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, there is no master reset using hardware keys. You must use Apple iTunes to force a software restore.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings reset all data connections back to the out-of-the-box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: ON
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

  1. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset.
  2. Tap Reset Network Settings.
  3. Type in the device password if prompted.
  4. Confirm selection.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal to power a device off when it's frozen if it has an internal battery that can't be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

iPhone 8 and above

  1. Press and quickly release the Volume Up key.
  2. Press and quickly release the Volume Down key.
  3. Press and hold the Side key until you see the Apple logo.

iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus

  1. Press and hold both the Side and Volume Down keys for at least 10 seconds.
  2. When you see the Apple logo, release the keys.

iPhone 6s and earlier

  1. Press and hold both the Home and the Top keys for at least 10 seconds.
  2. When you see the Apple logo, release the keys.

Was this helpful?