It’s official! T-Mobile & Sprint have merged!
Sprint support pages are available for existing Sprint accounts here. If you are looking for more, visit our Migration Center.

Learn how to master reset the Samsung Galaxy Tab S4  using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Before you begin, make sure to backup your device.
  2. From the Home screen, swipe up to view all apps.
  3. Tap Settings > General management > Reset > Factory data reset > RESET.
  4. If you have screen lock turned on, enter your PIN or password and tap Continue.
  5. Tap Delete all.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Turn off the device.
  2. Press and hold the Volume Up key, then press and hold the Power key.
  3. When the Samsung Galaxy Tab S4 logo screen displays, release only the Power key
  4. When the Android logo displays, release all keys.
  5. Wait while 'Installing system update' shows for about 30 - 60 seconds before the Android system recovery menu options appear.
  6. Press the Volume Down key several times key to highlight 'wipe data / factory reset.'
  7. Press Power button to select.
  8. Press the Volume down key until 'Yes' is highlighted.
  9. Press Power button to select and start the master reset.
  10. When the master reset is complete, 'Reboot system now' is highlighted.
  11. Press the Power key to restart the device.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

  1. From the Home screen, swipe up to view all apps.
  2. Tap Settings > General management > Reset.
  3. Tap Reset network settings > RESET SETTINGS.
  4. If prompted, enter the PIN, password, or pattern.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

  1. Press and hold the Power and Volume down key for up to 45 seconds.
  2. Wait as the device restarts.

Was this helpful?