Support SUPPORT New to T-Mobile? Switching is easy Set up your device Using the app Sprint Migration Center All get started topics Ways to pay your bill All about your bill Line permissions Your T-Mobile ID Your PIN/Passcode All account resources topics T-Mobile Network In-flight texting and Wi-Fi Wi-Fi Calling International roaming Mobile Without Borders All network & roaming topics Find the right plan Neftlix on Us HotSpot plans Voicemail Use Mobile HotSpot All plans support topics Tutorials Troubleshooting Unlock your device Change your SIM T-Mobile eSIM All device assistance topics Account Hub I-Billing Home Office Internet Collaborate Line permissions All business support topics

Learn how to master reset the moto G7 power using the menu or hardware keys.

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Swipe up on the Home screen to view your apps, then tap Settings.
  3. Tap System > Advanced > Reset options.
  4. Tap Erase all data (factory reset) and scroll to the bottom of the account list.
  5. Tap RESET PHONE, enter your PIN or Password if prompted, then tap ERASE EVERYTHING.
  6. The device will erase all information, reboot, and turn on like the first time you used it.

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Power off your device.
  3. Press and hold the Power button and the Volume down button.
  4. When the phone turns on, release the Power button but continue to hold the Volume down button until you see the Recovery screen.
  5. Use the Volume Keys to scroll to RECOVERY MODE, then press the Power button.
  6. When you see the Android with the exclamation point, hold the Power button and press Volume up. Then release both buttons.
  7. Use the Volume Keys to scroll to Wipe data/factory reset, then press the Power button.
  8. Use the Volume Keys to scroll to Yes, then press the Power button.
  9. Use the Volume Keys to scroll to Userdata + personalized content, then press the Power button
  10. Wait until the device finishes formatting and brings you back to the menu.
  11. Use the Volume Keys to scroll to Reboot system now, then press the Power button.

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes occur when you reset network settings.

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks are deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections are deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices are deleted.
  • Background data sync settings are turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off are reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode is set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type is set to best.

The device connections status default to the following when the device is powered on for the first time.

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

  1. Swipe up on the Home screen to view your apps, then tap Settings.
  2. Tap System > Advanced > Reset options.
  3. Tap Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth > RESET SETTINGS.
  4. If prompted, enter your PIN or Password, then tap RESET SETTINGS.

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. Use a soft reset to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device has an internal battery that can't be removed. It doesn't cause loss of personal data on the device.

  1. Press and hold the Power button for about 10 seconds, until the screen goes dark.
  2. Wait for the device to restart.

Was this helpful?