Support
SUPPORT New to T-Mobile? Switching is easy Set up your device Get a T-Mobile ID Sprint Migration Center All get started topics Ways to pay your bill All about your bill Line permissions Your T-Mobile ID Your PIN/Passcode All account resources topics T-Mobile Network In-flight texting and Wi-Fi Wi-Fi Calling International roaming Mobile Without Borders All network & roaming topics Find the right plan Neftlix on Us HotSpot plans Voicemail Use Mobile HotSpot All plans support topics Tutorials Troubleshooting Unlock your device Change your SIM T-Mobile eSIM All device assistance topics Account Hub I-Billing Home Office Internet Collaborate Line permissions All business support topics

Learn how to master reset the moto e5 plus using the menu or hardware keys.

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From the Home screen swipe up, tap Settings > System > Reset.
  3. Tap Factory data reset.
  4. If your phone is password protected, you'll be prompted to enter your Pattern, PIN, or Password.
  5. Tap RESET PHONE.

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume down button, then press and hold the Power button at the same time until the phone turns on.
  4. When the device powers on, release the Power button but continue to hold the Volume down button until the Recovery screen appears.
  5. Use the volume buttons to scroll to 'RECOVERY MODE'.
  6. Press and hold the Power button. While holding the Power button, press the Volume up button.
  7. Release both buttons.
  8. Press the volume buttons to scroll to 'Userdata + personalized content' and press the Power button to select it.
  9. Use the volume buttons to scroll to 'Reboot system now' and press the Power button to select it. If your phone becomes unresponsive at any point during these steps, you can restart it by holding down the Power button for several seconds.

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

  1. From the Home screen swipe up, tap Settings > System > Reset.
  2. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.
  3. Tap RESET SETTINGS.

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device. To do a soft reset, press and hold the Power and Volume up keys for 15-20 seconds to force the device to restart.


Was this helpful?