Learn how to master reset the LG Stylo 4 using the menu or hardware keys.

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

Android version 8.0.0

  1. From any home screen, swipe left to locate and tap Settings.
  2. Select the General tab or scroll to and tap Reset.
  3. If prompted, review the LG Mobile Switch popup and then tap OK.
  4. Select or clear the following check boxes:
    • Back up my data
    • Automatic restore
  5. Tap Backup account and follow the steps to create Google backup account, if necessary.
  6. Tap Factory data reset.
  7. If desired, tap the Erase SD card checkbox.
  8. Tap RESET PHONE > Delete all > RESET.

Android version 7.1.2

  1. Back up data on the internal memory to a memory card.
  2. From the apps list, tap Settings > General > Restart & reset.
  3. Tap Factory data reset and review the warning. Make sure Erase SD card is not checked.
  4. Tap Reset phone and enter you password or PIN if prompted.
  5. Tap Delete all > OK.

Master reset with hardware keys

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory to a memory card.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Power/Lock key and the Volume Down key at the same time.
  4. When the LG logo appears, quickly release and then re-hold the Power/Lock key while continuing to hold the Volume Down key.
  5. When 'Factory data reset' appears, use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes.
  6. Press the Power/Lock key to select.
  7. When prompted to "Erase all user data and restore default settings," use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes.
  8. Press the Power/Lock key to select and reset the device.

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

Android version 8.0.0

  1. From any home screen, swipe left to locate and tap Settings.
  2. Select the General tab or scroll to and tap Reset.
  3. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS > Reset Settings.
  4. A 'Network settings have been reset' message briefly flashes to indicate the reset is complete.

Android version 7.1.2

  1. From the apps list, tap Settings > General > Restart & reset.
  2. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.
  3. Enter your password or PIN if prompted, then tap Reset Settings.

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

  1. Press and hold the Power/Lock key and the Volume Down key at the same time.
  2. Wait for the device to restart, then release the buttons.
  Message us on My T-Mobile