Support SUPPORT New to T-Mobile? Switching is easy Set up your device Using the app Sprint Migration Center All get started topics Ways to pay your bill All about your bill Line permissions Your T-Mobile ID Your PIN/Passcode All account resources topics T-Mobile Network In-flight texting and Wi-Fi Wi-Fi Calling International roaming Mobile Without Borders All network & roaming topics Find the right plan Neftlix on Us HotSpot plans Voicemail Use Mobile HotSpot All plans support topics Tutorials Troubleshooting Unlock your device Change your SIM T-Mobile eSIM All device assistance topics Account Hub I-Billing Home Office Internet Collaborate Line permissions All business support topics

Learn how to master reset the LG K40 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From your list of apps, tap Settings > General > Restart & reset.
  3. If prompted, review the LG Mobile Switch popup and then tap OK.
  4. Tap Factory data reset.
  5. If desired, tap the Erase SD card checkbox.
  6. Tap RESET PHONE > Delete all > RESET.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Power/Lock key and the Volume Down key at the same time.
  4. When the LG logo appears, quickly release and then re-hold the Power/Lock key while continuing to hold the Volume Down key.
  5. When 'Factory data reset' appears, use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes.
  6. Press the Power/Lock key to select.
  7. When prompted to "Erase all user data and restore default settings," use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes.
  8. Press the Power/Lock key to select and reset the device.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes occur when you reset network settings.

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks are deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections are deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices are deleted.
  • Background data sync settings are turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off are reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode is set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type is set to best.

The device connections status default to the following when the device is powered on for the first time.

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

  1. From your list of apps, tap Settings > General > Restart & reset.
  2. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.
  3. If prompted, enter you PIN or Password, then tap Reset Settings.
  4. A 'Network settings have been reset' message briefly flashes to indicate the reset is complete.

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. Use a soft reset to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device has an internal battery that can't be removed. It doesn't cause loss of personal data on the device.

  1. Press and hold the Power/Lock key and the Volume Down key at the same time.
  2. Wait for the device to restart, then release the buttons.

Was this helpful?