In today's modern world, communication has become much faster and easier than ever before. However, sometimes people deliberately stop communicating with you by blocking your phone number. This can be very frustrating, especially if you are not sure if they blocked you on purpose or if they are just too busy or have a new phone number. This article will help you identify the signs that someone has blocked your number, regardless of whether you have an iPhone or Android phone. We will also provide you with tips on what to do next if you find out that you have been blocked.
Signs that someone has blocked your cell phone number
There are two main ways that a number can be blocked on a device: (1) call blocking and (2) message blocking, which means not only are your regular phone calls and/or video calls blocked, but also your texts, SMS and iMessages. Unfortunately, there’s no way to be 100% certain you are blocked without simply asking the person who has blocked your number, which can be difficult to do if you can’t get ahold of that person in the first place. However, there are a few indicators, depending on whether you’re an Android or iPhone user. Let’s take a deeper dive into what happens with message blocking.
How to know if someone blocked you on iPhone
What happens if your number is blocked on iPhone? There are two distinctive things to watch out for:
The color of your messages.
If you’re using iMessage to chat with another iPhone user and suddenly your messages turn green, that could be a sign your messages have been blocked. iMessages are sent over the internet and appear in blue bubbles when sent between iOS users, while SMS messages are sent through your carrier and appear green. SMS messages that aren’t delivered usually say “Message Not Delivered” underneath the green bubble. A sudden switch from blue to green could simply mean a user has their phone in airplane mode or switched to an Android device. However, when combined with other signs, it could be an indicator you’ve been blocked.
The delivery status.
If your messages are still appearing in the blue bubble, but you’re not getting a response, checking the delivery status is a good way to tell if you’ve been blocked. Underneath each message you send, there should be a small bar of grey text that says “Delivered” if your message went through, or “Read” if the recipient has read receipts turned on. If your past few messages have no status beneath them, it’s possible they’ve been blocked.
How to tell if someone blocked your number on Android
What happens when someone blocks you on Android? Since not all Android devices let you see if your message has been delivered, you’ll have two main options:
Use the “suggested contact” feature.
If you’re an Android user, various people you've interacted with through Google’s services are automatically saved. The idea is to suggest potential contacts you may be interested in adding. Here’s how to use this feature to see if you’ve been blocked. First, delete the person’s contact information in your phone. Then, do a search for their name in your contacts. If the name still comes up as a suggested contact, you are probably not blocked.
Read between the lines.
If you attempt to send a text message and, in response, get a message that reads “Free MSG: Unable to send message—message blocking active,” that is a sign that the recipient is not receiving messages and that you may be blocked. But don’t fret just yet. It’s also possible that a poor internet connection or prepaid account balances, among other issues, are to blame.
What happens when you call someone who blocked you?
If you’re not sure whether the texts are getting through, simply calling the number is a good way to see if you’ve been blocked, regardless of whether you’re an iPhone or Android user. Here’s what to look for:
- If you’re not blocked, the phone should ring anywhere from three to twelve times before going to voicemail.
- A blocked number may ring only once and then go to voicemail. (If a call goes directly to voicemail without ringing, that person is probably just on another call, has their phone turned off, or has it set to airplane mode.)
- When you mask your number (by dialing *67 first) or you call from someone else’s phone, and it rings multiple times before going to voicemail—or the person actually answers—then you were likely blocked. [NOTE: iPhone users can also turn off the “Show My Caller ID” option in the “Phone” section of your settings app, which will mask your number. However, iOS 13 software updates allow users to silence unknown callers, so if you’ve masked your number, these users will not be notified of your call, and it will not ring on their end.]
Being blocked by someone can be a frustrating experience, especially if you're not sure whether it's intentional or not. By following the tips and techniques we've discussed in this article, you can easily find out if someone has blocked your number on an iPhone or Android device. Remember that being blocked doesn't necessarily mean the end of the relationship, and there are always other ways to communicate with the person, such as through social media or email. If you’re still not having any luck connecting on Facebook or Instagram, for example, then it is probably a good idea to give your contact some space. Ultimately, it's important to respect the other person's decision to block you and move on if necessary.